Happy Easter!

Somehow, even though I work with catering, I never really know anything about Easter. When? What? Why? For me, it's just another excuse for the days to get extra busy at work.
 
So now when I happen to be in my hometown Hällefors, it was just perfect to enjoy a traditional Easter buffe at my old foster family home. All of my 'step siblings', or whatever it's actually called, have 2-3 children each, and that's a lot of energy going on around... I was slightly awkward in the midst of the running around, playing, crying, but I guess things fell more naturally after a while (and 2 shots of rum). It was pretty heartwarming somehow. Even though we're not physically connected, I really felt like a part of the family again. I'm so lucky to be part of them.
 
So, down to some of the traditional easter food we've got in my part of Sweden
 
  • Egg halves with with crème fraîche, dill and caviar
  • Different types of pickled herring
  • Cured salmon with heartberries 
  • Smoked (?) deer wih capers (slightly red inside, my meat favourite)
  • Potato salad with cornichons
  • Boiled dill potatoes. More potatoes.
  • Smoked fish
  • Christmas ham (haha wtf) and strong mustard
  • Salami & sausages
  • Meatballs & smoked whatever-animal-it-was
  • Janssons (potato gratin with anchovies)
  • Assorted cheeses and crisp bread
 
....and the list goes on forever. This varies of course a lot from family to family, but you get the idea. Even though I would rather be drinking beer in my bikini and dance for hours, this felt good. It felt good to meet everyone again. It felt good to be part of a huge family. It was also one of the best food experiences so far this year. And tomorrow, I'll be back to munch on the leftovers of today <3 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0